When Prince Eugene, who in 1725/26 enlarged his country castle into a far reaching Baroque estate, was still alive, as well as under the aegis of later owner Empress Maria Theresia, the castle was a venue celebrated far and wide for its luxuriant fêtes and festivities for the court of Vienna. Subsequently, as of the 18th century, it gradually lapsed into oblivion.
With unimaginable effort and dedication, the entire palace estate, including the Meierhof right next door, a kind of self-sufficient farm, as well as the utterly neglected 16 hectars of gardens, have been fastidiously and faithfully reconstructed after studying old etchings and paintings depicting the way it used to be.
The magnificent Baroque gardens of Prince Eugene, with their immense terraces, water games, fountains and labyrinths, numbered among the most beautiful estates in the Danube monarchy as far back as 1730. Today, visitors can visit the gardens and the castle, even view (and affectionately pet) the favourite animals of Baroque society, e.g. the white donkey and skudden sheep. Costume fêtes in summertime and markets at each season of the year round out the experience, all of which is produced true to historic detail.